EDGE-UCATION #4 BUDGET BLADE BRILLIANCE

imageSorry boys and girls, but the search is over. It’s time for the bloggers to silence their chatter and to tell the Youtuber’s to put away their cameras. Let Instagram know that the hashtagging is done and that the forums have no more comparisions to make. Put your wallets to rest and empty all your online shopping carts. I’m simply stating that the hunt is over. This article is going to drastically reduce your so-called budget knife collection down to one specific blade, all the while bringing true stability to your every day carry. Today’s review is on the Ontario Rat 1.

Now first things first to me there is no formal category to which this knife belongs. It’s more than a budget folder and yet it’s limits far exceed those of most $100 blades. While combining credibility, quality, and price I honestly believe that within this article a true CARRY QUEEN will emerge. So it’s with contrast and comparision that I plan to show this knife’s ability to stand on its own. Seperating itself from the rest of the pack and ending any debate on whether or not it is the ultimate EDC knife.

I would also like to let the specifications of the Rat 1 precede my opinion of it. On paper this knife will never win any awards and it’s only with personal experience that its appeal really begins to sink in. In my opinion inevitably setting the bar on which most knive will now be measured. Budget minded or not.

So what does the Ontario Rat 1 bring to the table? At first nothing more than a laundry list of unimpressive features. AUS 8 steel, FRN handle scales, and liner lock construction. Sure it has a repositional pocket clip and lanyard hole, but those aren’t details to brag or write home about. I do enjoy tip up carry though, but to me there shouldn’t be any other option. That being said when you finally do get this knife in your hands… thats when the true epiphany starts to take place.

Now the style that I’m trying to establish within my articles is always passion based. Features and specifications are all well and fine, but they don’t really speak to the knife lover inside of me. ‘ the fanboy’. That part of the brain that only speaks to the hobbies. I’m looking for sensory overload or atleast to give you an honest opinion about a knife that facts can’t really measure against. I believe that if we play to the five senses that life will be that much more enjoyable. So can that translate to the importance I put on a knife collection? I say ” why not?”

The Ontario Rat 1 has amazing ergonomics. In hand it feels more than stable for hard use and also offers a great level of comfort at a full four finger grip. Budget plays a big role in the knives I review. Yet here it is only one of the bullet points in the list of pros, not the crowning achievement. The lock up is sturdy  in utility and gratifying audibly. I do love the solid click of the lock up. It reassures me that the Rat is built like a tank and there is no reason it can’t perform at a large list of tasks.

Now the sole reason you already do own or will own this knife is for its blade deployment, the speed and smoothness that you experience when opening this knife is uncanny. I kid you not, it will put most high end flippers to shame and blades that are assisted opening out to pasture. Out of the box the Rat 1 has no such rivals. It’s that damn smooth. Two more pros to teeter the scale are that the Rat is very easy to find for purchase and it can be had for no more that $30. The bonus is that is you have read any of my other article’s you’ll already know I’m a small knife guy. Heres the kicker. The Ontario Rat 1 has a little brother…The Rat 2 which is a scaled down version of the exact same knife, which in my personal preference fits the concept of EDC just a tad bit better.

This next part is my attempt to speak to the knife community in a language only it understands, the language of knife to knife comparisions. A straight forward approach into which is the better of the two blades based mostly on price, quality, and overall feel. This will be my opinion on which knives the Ontario Rat 1 stacks up against. Here is my comparable list:

Is the Rat better than:

Spyderco Tenacious/ Yes

Kershaw Blur/ Yes

Boker Nano/ Yes

SOG Twitch/ Yes

Spyderco Delica 4/ No , but the rat is more fun to carry.

Spyderco manix 2/ No

Leek or Skyline/ Yes and Yes

Benchmade Griptilian/ it’s a push for me. Grips cost a grip

Paramilitary 2/ No

Sage or Techno/ No

Any ZT/ Not a chance

but it does in my opinion hold up well against some knives that are staples in the knife community.

I feel confident in the way I shared this knife with you today. I love hearing about specs on review on Youtube, but knives are tools I enjoy far too much to bore the readers with. I’d rather try to explain their cool factor and get as many people interested in knives as possible.That’s why I shared my heads up comprisons, try to tempt you with opinions not facts aswell as share with you the true reasons you must experience this knife for your self. Like i said there has to be passion to the hobbies we spend our time on pursuing. I’m trying to help you find a real reason to carry and use this cutting tool every day. The Ontario Rat 1 or 2 easily pushes those ideas further and is truley a joy of a pocket knife. It has set the benchmark and is more than just a brilliant budget blade.

Leave a comment